us too affected logo    

      News You Can Use

Us TOO Homepage | Donate | View Message in Your Browser | Change Email Preferences | Forward to a Friend


Does someone special come to mind when you think of “an outstanding leader in an Us TOO support group who has shown unselfish, dedicated service to prostate cancer survivors and their families?" If so, they fit the criteria for receiving the Edward C. Kaps Hope Award. Here’s an opportunity to recognize him or her with a nomination!

The award’s namesake is one of the founders of Us TOO International, an original board member, and current director emeritus. This award underscores the value of establishing real hope in the battle with prostate cancer as a result of Us TOO volunteers sharing educational information and providing support services from the personal perspective of having been there and done that.

Nomination Criteria: Any Us TOO International support group volunteer or activist can be nominated, which can include a support group leader, leader of spouse/companion group, special event volunteer, or anyone whose leadership and commitment is vital to the success of your group or the Us TOO network.  

Nomination Procedure: Please send a nomination letter of 500 words or less that explains why your nominee deserves this award based on a commitment to serving others and the benefit or positive impact he or she brings to the group overall. If appropriate, mention how this was demonstrated by helping an individual in particular. Please note the location and name of the Us TOO chapter/support group that’s affiliated with the nominee. 

Nomination Deadline: All nomination letters must be received by Friday November 14, 2014. 

Nomination Submission: Please send your nomination as an email to, or mail your nomination letter to:

Terri Likowski
Us TOO International
2720 S. River Road, Suite 112
Des Plaines, IL 60018

Award Selection Process: All nominations will be reviewed by the Us TOO Awards Committee. Winners will be announced and contacted the week of November 17.

Award Details: Recipients of the Edward C. Kaps Award will be invited to attend an award presentation dinner during the Us TOO annual meeting in Chicago on the evening of Friday, December 5, 2014 at the Hyatt Rosemont Hotel. In addition to the honor of being recognized with the award, each recipient will also receive an Us TOO International wrist watch and special recognition in an upcoming edition of the HotSheet email distributed to an audience of more than 11,000 in the Us TOO network.

Previous Recipients of the Edward C. Kaps Hope Award 

2013: Memorial to Russ Gould

2012:  James Coffey , Linda Hoetger, Dave & Donna Evans; and as a “team effort,” Mr. Rudy Sands, Dr. Alfred Brathwaite, Rev. Percy Kemp and Mr. Corydon Mitchell from Us TOO Bahamas

2011: Willie Stewart, Bob Horney, George Mirich, Lew Musgrove, Bill Krellner; and in memoriam, Mike Jones

2010: Willie Cotton, Bill Whitmore, Craig Schmidt, Judi Sumoski, Henry Plunkett and George Melton

2009: Russ Gould, Bill Stevens, Johnny Payne, Rex Zeiger; and in memoriam, Bill Boyd

2008: Stan Rosenfeld, Ralph Valle, Shirley Grey, Chuck Maack, Bill Blair; and in memoriam, Jack Pais and Harry Pinchot

My best to you,

Thomas Kirk
President & CEO
Us TOO International
Des Plaines, IL 60018
Office: 630-795-1002
Toll Free: 800-808-7866
Tom Kirk 14
Donate Now!

Circles of Love National Health Council GreatNonprofits.jpg
Us TOO International Facebook Us TOO International Twitter Us TOO International LinkedIn
  Us TOO International YouTube Us TOO International Inspire Community  

Us TOO International Prostate Cancer Education & Support Network 

2720 S. River Road, Suite 112, Des Plaines, IL 60018-4106
P: 630-795-1002  F: 630-795-1602   
PCa HelpLine: 1-800-80-Us TOO (808-7866)